Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Linking Soil and Human Health – Special Webinar with Dr. Elaine Ingham

December 7 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

| Special Webinar

Register Now

This is a very special webinar with the one of the foremost experts on soil health, soil scientist Dr. Elaine Ingham.  We are fortunate to have her join us to share some of the details of her soil research and learn more about how important healthy soil is connected to human health.

The food we eat should contain all the nutrients required to be healthy and yet, conventionally produced plants no longer contain the balance or amounts of nutrients we require. During this talk, the process by which soil life allows plants to obtain nutrients from soil will be explained. The surfaces of plants should be covered by beneficial organisms which protect the plant from diseases and pests. When we eat plants, then our digestive systems will be colonized by the enormous diversity of these beneficial microorganisms. The antibiotic approach to dealing with disease-causing organisms has resulted in a loss of our beneficial organisms. Sterilizing soil, or food, is the wrong approach. Instead, we need to understand how nature promotes beneficial organisms, and suppresses problem organisms. Using these approaches, we can work with nature, and not against nature. Cost are much reduced, and production is much increased. Human health is directly linked in many ways to soil health.

 

This is an online presentation starting at 6 pm Pacific / 7pm Mountain / 8 pm Central / 9pm Eastern

Register Here

Details

Date:
December 7
Time:
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Cost:
Special Webinar
Event Category:
Event Tags:
, , ,

Organizer

The Urban Farm
Website:
urbanfarm.org

Venue

Online